Tags

, , , , , ,

Sometimes, when I find myself in need of some other worldly inspiration, I take to the Google Art Project.  Have you done this?  I can literally spend hours focusing on one painting, something I probably wouldn’t do if I was in the museum itself.

If you haven’t heard of the site, let me give you a quick overview.

Originally launched in 2011, the project partnered with 17 museums to digitally capture artwork to be viewed online.  You can stroll the museums using Google Street View, zoom in for a surprisingly detailed, crisp brush stroke close look, create your own virtual collection all while learning more about these incredible pieces of art.  The project has since expanded, it now features works from over 150 art collections from 40 countries, with more than 30,000 pieces of art to view.

It might not be the same as being in the museum looking at the original piece, perhaps nothing can compare to that, but it does allow more people access and in that way, can be a helpful contributor to fueling art appreciation.

